
 
 

 

 

Steps for Ohio Licensure for Out-of-State Licensed Social Workers 
 
  

We welcome social workers who are licensed in other states to apply for licensure in 
Ohio.  If you are currently licensed in another state, we will accept your ASWB exam 
and supervised experience under endorsement.  We will need your ASWB exam score 
and supervision documents with your Ohio application. Our rules for endorsement of a 
social work license can be found in 4757-19-07 at  
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4757-19-07  
  
Your first step is to submit the appropriate application and then the other steps can be 
completed in any order.  After you submit your application, we will send you an email 
with a user name and password so you can see which documents have been received 
and which ones are pending.  We usually advise out of state applicants to wait until you 
are in Ohio before completing the FBI/BCI check, although you can follow the directions 
at BCI & FBI Background Checks if you want to get this done while you are out of state. 
  
The licensure process is not as complicated as it might appear. We can usually issue 
your license within a few days after we receive all your documents.   If you have 
questions, you can contact the Board’s social work team 
at douglas.warne@cswb.ohio.gov or andy.miller@cswb.ohio.gov   
  
If you are applying for an LSW, the instructions can be found at Licensed Social Worker 
  
Documents required for completing an LSW licensure file: 
 
1) LSW application  with a $60 fee 
2) ASWB Bachelors, Masters, Clinical, or Advanced Generalist exam results  
 a) You may be able to contact your state licensing board to have them send your 
ASWB exam results to this board, or  
 b) You may contact the ASWB directly at 888-579-3926 and ask them to send 
your exam results to the Ohio CSWMFT Board (there will be a fee)  
3) Board’s online Laws & Rules exam has a $10 fee. 
4) Official Transcript mailed or emailed directly from your school 
5) BCI & FBI Background Checks usually about a  $61 fee.  
If you are applying for an LISW, the instruction can be found at  
  
 If you are applying for an LISW, the instructions can be found at  
Licensed Independent Social Worker   
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Documents required for completing your LISW licensure file:  
 
1) LISW application with $75 fee. 
2) ASWB Clinical or Advanced Generalist exam results  
a) You may be able to contact your state licensing board to have them send your ASWB 
exam results to this board or  
b) You may contact the ASWB directly at 888-579-3926 and ask them to send your 
exam result to the Ohio CSWMFT Board (there will be a fee)  
3) Board’s online Laws & Rules exam has a $10 fee. 
4) Official Transcript mailed or e-mailed directly from your school 
5) BCI & FBI Background Checks usually about a $61 fee. 
6) Professional Employment Reference(s)  
 a) If you have supervision in another state we will need your supervision 
documentation.   
  1) You can contact your state board and ask them to send your 
supervision records to the CSWMFT Board in Ohio.   
  2) If your state board does not have your supervision records we will need 
a letter from them verifying they do not have this documentation.   
  3) You may ask former supervisors to complete a  
Professional Employment Reference   

  


